8,7,6 Years in the making

It’s been 8 years since my husband and I first went to Alabama together for me to meet his family. It’s been 7 years since we’ve seen his sisters and brother-in-law when they came to our wedding, and it’s been 6 years since we’ve seen mama.  So as you can imagine this was a really important trip.  We’d been saying for years that we need to save and go down there, well this year I nipped that crap in the butt and saved for months so that this year when my husband would say “we are going to try to come down this year” to his mom we could actually follow through with it.  I chose to do it the beginning of June so she could spend at least one birthday with our son and another one with her son.  We really don’t know how long she will be with us and she isn’t getting any younger.  Plus she had yet to meet little and that needed to happen.  That was really the main reason we went was her, the sight-seeing and fun we had while we were there was just a perk.

Once we hit the Kentucky line little dudes excitement kept increasing.  About every 45 minutes we’d hear him pipe up with “are we there yet?” I don’t know if that was because he was excited to get to see grandma and put a face to the voice over the phone or if he was tired of being in the car.  I was tired of being scrunched up in the back of the truck with the dog and our daughter I know that.  So while he was excited that we were getting closer my nerves were becoming increasingly overwhelmed.  I knew how to handle my family, what I could say that won’t offend anyone, what kind of stupid crap I can say that won’t get a negative reaction.  I hadn’t been around this half of our family in 6-7 years.  Even when I was around them all it wasn’t like we were together for days at a time, except for mama when she lived with us for a couple of months.  It was a few hours here and there with his sisters, brother-in-law and nieces and nephews.  So I knew I had to try to watch my mouth, I couldn’t joke about certain things because they don’t get my kind of humor yet and when it came to parenting the kids my family knows better than to intervene or tell me not to do something, I wasn’t sure this half of the family knew not to.  Along with the nerves about his family I was also excited about being out of the North and back in the South.  I developed a love for it about 15 years ago when I first went to Atlanta for a National Youth Gathering.  I told my husband if we ever move again we are going South but it has to be somewhere that gets a little bit of snow in the winter.
At one point driving through Kentucky my husband and I were talking when all of a sudden we here this “ding”.  I look at the dash-board from the backseat and we are on E.  Oh good Lord, this could seriously suck.  Run out of gas on the interstate in the south during June….bad combo.  I was like please tell me we are close to a gas station.  I look up and sure enough there one is like a quarter of a mile up the road.  Please truck get there please!  The good Lord was looking out for us on that one I truly believe.  Mr. “don’t let the tank go below 1/4 of tank” was shocked that it happened and we just chalked it up to not paying attention because we were too busy looking at the scenery and talking about a lot of different things. Thankfully Jesus had the wheel there 😉
Once we were through Kentucky, which was about an hour, we hit Tennessee.  I told my husband I wanted to go to the Grand Ole Opry, so we planned to stop in Nashville and go to the Grand Ole Opry and eat dinner.  We stopped at the Waffle House, if you haven’t had the opportunity to experience this delicious goodness you need to.  It’s some of the best breakfast food you’ll eat in your life.  We ate it 8 years ago and when I was pregnant with Johnny I wanted it all the time!  That and Krystals.  Krystals is like a White Castle but SOOO much better, and yes that is possible.  Anyway, the kids had their first Waffle House experience and our son loved his waffle and our daughter was all over the waffle and bacon.  When we walked out of the waffle house I looked at the sky and those clouds were intense, you don’t see storm clouds like that up North.  So we took a rain check, haha no pun intended, on the Opry and said we’d stop on our way home.

Finally 2 hours after we left Nashville we hit the Alabama line. WOOHOO! SWEET HOME ALABAMA!  We stopped at the rest area that was just over the state line and not far from Huntsville, which is home to NASA.  The rest area had a model of a spaceship and our son wanted to go look at it.  Little miss was passed out so the guys went and took some pretty cool pictures.  We had about 3 hours before we would hit Montgomery and it was already 9, but we were determined to get there that night.

We pulled up to mama’s around 11:30- 11:45.  My original plan was to get the kids and my husband to go knock on her door and video her reaction.  That was a flop because she came walking out when she saw the truck, but she was still so excited to see us.  Little man got out of the truck and hardly hesitated to give her a hug.  Our daughter on the other hand was a bit more hesitant.  I know she recognized her voice because when she talked to her our daughter gave me that look like “hey I know that voice.”  We went inside and got settled and talked for a little while, it’d been too long since we’d seen each other and it was so good to see her again.  When we finally went to bed it was 1 in the morning and I was exhausted and ready for that bed, even if we did have to share it with two kids and a dog. =D

The next day was full of a couple new things, but you’ll have to wait to hear about those 😉
To Be Continued………..

Leave a Reply

