Kid safe muffin mix

If there are any of you our there that are like I am I love muffin mix, frosting, cake batter, cookie dough and naturally I’ve passed that love on to my kids.  I make frosting for cakes and they are right under me asking for a spoon full of it.  Same with cake batter, muffin mix and cookie dough, but with a lot of those recipes once you put that egg in your heightening your chances of getting salmonella.   I’ve done it for years and never thought twice about it until I had kids.  Isn’t it amazing how those little babies can completely change your thought process on things you did yourself?  I didn’t put too much thought behind them getting sick from those things because I never did until my we discovered that my son has somewhat of a sensitive stomach.  So the way I prep certain things and let him eat has changed and I have to put more thought in to it then maybe most parent’s do.

My kids love muffins for breakfast or a quick snack.  They are really honestly pretty easy to make, if you’re not making them from scratch, and not only are the muffins themselves pretty tasty that muffin mix is awesome for a quick sweet tooth fix.  Usually what happens is either I get a sweet tooth kick and make the muffin mix or one of the kids will say they want something sweet or want muffins.  Well we all know in our house if mom has to make batter for something, she usually makes extra because almost all of us has to have a spoonful or at the very least a small bowl of it.  There are some muffin mixes out there that just call for milk, those are ideal and awesome because they are easy for one and second they are safe for the kiddos to eat that mix without having to make any adjustments to the ingredients.  But there are also still those mixes out there that require an egg or egg white.  Now I’m sure I’m not the first to come up with this idea or the first to do it, but when I buy mixes that require an egg this is how I make my muffin mix so it’s kid friendly and not only that if you do make actual muffins with them they are really dense, moist and seem fluffier.

I decided to try this way of making muffins one night when the kids said they wanted muffins for breakfast the next day.  We are in serious need of some groceries so I wasn’t sure I could pull it off.  I looked in the fridge and we were out of eggs, which this mix asked for.  So I pulled out my food substitution book I have and looked up things I may have that would cover the egg aspect of the recipe.  Sure enough I did!  The book said to substitute one egg you can use 1/4 of a cup of bananas.  I was a little worried that the muffins may end up tasting like bananas instead of blueberry but was willing to try it out.  So I dumped the box of powdered mix and dumped it in a bowl, added milk which the box said to add 1/4 cup but I put in a 1/3 of cup to add a little more liquid to the mix so it wouldn’t be so thick since I wasn’t adding an egg.  I cut up and smashed a banana up and put 1/4 a cup of the smashed banana in the mix, mixed it up and took a bite, not bad.

Yes you could taste the banana in the batter but it wasn’t an overwhelming taste.  My daughter wanted some and she took a huge bit and went on her merry way.  Then my son wanted a bite.  I was a little leary about giving him a bite because he’s not a huge banana fan, but let’s try it out.  He took a big bite, looked at me for a minute and gave a thumbs up and ran off to do his thing.  SWEET! a recipe that I can make and the kids can eat all the batter if they want and I got approval from both.
20170625_124626

Once everyone had their bite of mix, I greased up a muffin tin and add 2 tablespoons of the batter in each individual tin.  Heated the oven to 400 degrees and placed the muffins in the oven for 15 minutes.  Pulled them out once they had finished and let them cool.  Once they had cooled I had to try one warm with butter and they are AMAZING! No banana taste, tastes just like a blueberry muffin should and like I said it was moist and very dense.  Honestly I think they taste better than when you make them with an egg.  And once again I got a thumbs up from both kiddos so that’s a deal maker right there!  Enjoy these delicious little pieces of heaven in your mouth!

20170625_131232  20170625_131906

Kid Approved and safe Muffins
1 box Jiff muffin mix(flavor of your choice)
1/3 cup of milk
1/4 banana
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a muffin tin with either butter, olive oil, extra virgin olive oil or an oil of your choice.  Put 2 tablespoons of batter in each individual tin and place in oven for 12-15 minutes, times vary for each oven.  Let cool and enjoy!  Makes about 4-5 muffins.

Leave a Reply

